The Girl in the Ice

Genre: Fiction/ Mystery/ Crime /Thriller
Publisher : Bloomsbury

Summary

hammer
Lotte & Soren Hammer

Under the heartless vault of Greenland’s arctic sky the body of a girl is discovered. Half-naked and tied up, buried hundreds of miles from any signs of life, she has lain alone, hidden in the ice cap, for twenty-five years. Now an ice melt has revealed her.

When Detective Chief Superintendent Konrad Simonsen is flown in to investigate this horrific murder and he sees how she was attacked, it triggers a dark memory and he realizes this was not the killer’s only victim. As Simonsen’s team works to discover evidence that has long since been buried, they unearth truths that certain people would prefer stayed forgotten. Disturbing details about the moral standing of some of Denmark’s political figures are revealed and powerful individuals are suddenly working against the case. But the pressure is on as it becomes clear that the killer chooses victims who all look unsettlingly similar, a similarity that may be used to the investigators’ advantage—just so long as they can keep the suspect in their sights.

Review

screenshot_20161205-211904I was browsing through suggestions for me on the GoodReads.com website which I had only discovered at the time. Once of the books recommended to me was one called “The girl in the Ice” so when I came across the title in the book shop a few days later I picked it up straight away looking forward to get stuck into it. Little did I know at the time, and not until I had finished the book that the book suggested to me was written by someone else. My late realisation of picking up the wrong book was only one of very many disappointments when it came to this book.

Dont get me wrong I fell for that summary head over heels as many of you might, but it sucks you in just to disappoint you. Once you start reading the book, its far from captivating. I had to continuously reassure myself that this will get better, which is already a bad sign.
The language is hard to read. When i say that I don’t mean that i couldn’t understand the words, more like it was difficult to follow. Perhaps it was the translation but I suspect it was the style it was written. You cant put so much blame on a translation.
There is absolutely no suspense. None. Oh they try to create suspense alright but it doesn’t work for them. They leave the reader out of the loop of some conversations which only ads to the confusion and builds more irritation than suspense. In the opportunities where they could have created suspense they just gave it away in the next paragraph.
The background on the main characters is just not there. They describe scenes where its already expected that you know they characters big secret. I realise that this is actually a second book in a series but I have read many books from middle of a series and there was never an issue like this.

Conclusion

Its not the worst book I have ever read simply because the story had promise but the execution of it was terrible. It has felt like the biggest waste of time and I would definitely not recommend this to anyone. I was furious when I finished the book simply because I wasted so much time on a story that could have been so much more. I am giving this one star and the single star is only there because of the interesting premise and nothing else.

1star

Leave a Reply

