Taboo

Genre: Crime / Mystery / Thriller
Publisher : Simon & Schuster
Image result for casey hill author
By Casey Hill (Melissa & Kevin)

Summary

Forensic Investigator Reilly Steel, Quantico-trained and California born and bred, imagined Dublin to be a far cry from San Francisco, a sleepy backwater where she can lay past ghosts to rest and start anew. She’s arrived in town to drag the Irish crime lab into the 21st century, plus keep tabs on her Irish-born father who’s increasingly seeking solace in the bottle after a family tragedy.

But a brutal serial killer soon puts paid to that. When a young man and woman are found dead in an apartment, the gunshot wounds on their naked bodies suggest a suicide pact. But Reilly’s instincts are screaming that something’s seriously amiss and, as more bodies are discovered, the team soon realise tht a twisted murderer is at work, one who seeks to upset society’s norms in the most sickening way imaginable….

 

Review

img_20170111_195756 I picked up this book in the book shop after reading the summary at the back. I was interested in a crime mystery set in Dublin because up to that point I was only familiar with Chick Lit romantic books set in Dublin. I guess I didn’t have huge expectations at the time and left it on my book shelf for a long time before deciding to get stuck into it.
I don’t know what I was thinking not reading this book sooner. The story is very interesting, the concept of the killer was very intriguing. The book was well written which I had doubts about since the only other book I had read by two authors before this was a disaster.
The story kept you in suspense in the “Ah just one more chapter” way which is always a great sign. The story line kept you guessing and I for one couldn’t have predicted the ending. Plenty of surprises along the way to keep this an exciting one till the very end. I felt like this book could do well as a t.v. series, I could picture it while I read how well it would work.
The Characters were well written, you weren’t overwhelmed with details which allowed you to make up your own details but enough to make the characters their own. The characters kept developing through out the story, the boring stiff was not as boring as you thought towards the end sort of way.

Conclusion

I had a great time reading this, it was an easy read too. After finishing the book I discovered there is 5 more in the series of Reilly Steel so I’m keen to get my hands on those too. I would give this book a  5 out of 5 stars. I would recommend this to any crime lover, its a great book but also easy to read. I would be definitely be looking at these two authors more in the future.

5stars

Leave a Reply

